Socceroos manager Ange Postecoglou has dropped Tim Cahill from Australia’s World Cup Qualifier against Thailand.

Tim Cahill is one of eight players cut from the 30 man squad. Apostolos Giannou, Luke Brattan, Chris Ikonomidis, Ryan McGowan, Tommy Oar, Aziz Behich and Jason Geria were also dropped.

Postecoglou admits that Cahill’s omission is to allow him to recover from general match-day soreness.

“Tim has been left out primarily because we have a 10 day lead in, which is very rare, and I want to be able to put the squad through a lot of work,” Postecoglou said.

“He has done a lot of travel for club and country and I have decided it is better he remains in Melbourne where he is being managed well to ensure he is back on the park as soon as possible and ready for us down the track.



Adam Federici (Bournemouth, England), Mitch Langerak (Stuttgart, Germany), Mat Ryan (Valencia, Spain)


Milos Degenek (1860 Munich, Germany), Alex Gersbah (Rosenbory, Norway), Josh Risdon (Perth Glory), Trent Sainsbury (Jiangsu, China), Brad Smith (Bournemouth, England), Matthew Spiranovic (Huangzhou Greentown, China), Bailey Wright (Preston North End, England)


Jackson Irvine (Burton Albion, England), Mile Jedinak (Aston Villa, England) James Jeggo (Sturm Graz, Austria), Massimo Luongo (QPR, England), Mark Milligan (Baniyas, UAE), Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield, England), Tom Rogic (Celtic, Scotland)


Nathan Burns (FC Tokyo, Japan), Craig Goodwin (Sparta Rotterdam, Netherlands), Tomi Juric (Luzern, Switzerland), Robbie Kruse (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany), Mathew Leckie (Ingolstadt, Germany), Jamie Maclaren (Brisbane Roar)