After this mornings Socceroos squad selection, it is clear to see why coach Ange Postecoglou is the only man for the job. 

His philosophy to build Australian football from the ground up is a testament to the success of so many young Australian footballers. 

Postecoglou has given Aspostolos Giannou (Guanghzhou R&F),  Jason Geria (Melbourne Victory) and Alex Gersbach (Rosenborg) a chance to earn their first cap for the Socceroos. 

Once upon a time, players knew that if they weren’t playing football overseas, the likely-hood of get a look in at national selection was slim. Ange’s reign as coach has changed that mentality, and has spurred on our home grown players to play beyond their expected capabilities. 

Melbourne City midfielder Aaron Mooy is a prime example of this. He has transformed from an irregular starter at Western Sydney Wanderers to being named as the A-League’s most valuable player by Postecoglou. 

Giannou (right) on the ball against Sparta Praha- Europa League

Ange’s coup to secure Giannou strengthens the Socceroos depth for a central striker. Giannou was the second highest scorer in the Greek Super League for Asteras Tripoli before moving to China. 

The inclusions of Jason Geria and Alex Gersbach will add an extra bit of pace and flare at the back. 

“We’ve worked hard on creating depth over the last two years and we now have a very solid and experienced spine to this team but we must also continually give players an opportunity if we want to make an impact on the world stage.

"This squad contains a group of young players who we are bringing in while they are in form and taking good strides forward both here in the Hyundai A-League and at various leagues around the world.”


Adam Federici (Reading), Mitch Langerak (Stuttgart), Mat Ryan (Valencia)


Jason Geria (Melbourne Victory), Alex Gersbach (Rosenborg), Ryan McGowan (Henan Jianye FC), Josh Risdon (Perth Glory), Trent Sainsbury (Jiangsu Suning), Brad Smith (Liverpool), Matthew Spiranovic (Hangzhou Greentown), Bailey Wright (Preston North End)


Terry Antonis (PAOK), Chris Ikonomidis (U.S. Salernitana 1919), Mile Jedinak (Crystal Palace), Massimo Luongo (Queens Park Rangers), Mark Milligan (Baniyas FC), Aaron Mooy (Melbourne City), Tom Rogic (Celtic)


Nathan Burns (FC Tokyo), Tim Cahill (Hangzhou Greentown), Aspostolos Giannou (Guanghzhou R&F), Robbie Kruse (Bayer Leverkusen), Mathew Leckie (FC Ingolstadt 04)

By Ari Charilaou (He’s also on twitter here)

Mundial Mornings is your morning wrap of world football. The latest news, transfers, matches, rumours from Australia and the world delivered every morning.

Follow THE TURF on Twitter, Facebook & Instagram.